Celebrating Faculty Excellence


View a slideshow of photos from the 2022 celebration of outstanding OSU faculty:




Congratulations once more to University Distinguished Professors Michael Freitag, Kathryn Higley and Brent Steel, who were honored May 25 along with holders of Oregon State’s donor-supported endowed faculty positions and fellows of prestigious scholarly academies. The Office of the Provost and OSU Foundation co-sponsor this annual university event. 


Brent Steel headshot

Brent Steel




Kathryn Higley headshot

Kathryn Higley




Michael Freitag headshot

Michael Freitag



View the 2022 University Distinguished Professor Lectures

“Like every great research university, our faculty are the foundation of who we are,” said Ed Feser, provost and executive vice president, during the celebration program. “Their discoveries and creative work contribute solutions to societal challenges and help create a more prosperous, sustainable and healthy world. And their teaching and mentoring prepare the university’s greatest contributions to society: our graduates.”

Thanks to our dedicated philanthropic community, OSU now has 167 endowed faculty position funds. Creating an endowed fund is a powerful way to help the university attract and retain outstanding faculty for generations to come.

Meet 24 of the most recent appointees to endowed faculty positions and learn about the visionary donors who support them.