2021 Black and Orange Awards

Celebrate Oregon State University’s finest at the 2021 Black and Orange Awards

Watch the full 2021 Black and Orange Awards event below.

Watch the 2021 Black and Orange Awards and be inspired by alumni and dear friends of our Oregon State community, each with an extraordinary story to tell about supporting others, forging connections and building success in their careers and among their communities.

Black and Orange Award Ceremony memory books for the award recipients
Contribute a photo, short message or story on the award recipients' memory books linked below. Each award recipient will receive a copy of their book with your note. Please add your contribution by Oct. 23, 2021.

Make a contribution in the honoree's honor.
Honorees have designated a fund for contributions to be given in their honor. Links to the various funding areas are included below. 

Photos and videos from this event may be used in Oregon State University promotional materials. By attending this event, you consent to have your photo taken and appear in videos and allow use of these photographs and videos by OSU, the Foundation or the Alumni Association for promotional purposes.


RICK SPINRAD, M.S. ’78, PH.D. ’82

E.B. Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award

Send Rick a congratulatory message
ImgBlock image

About the Black and Orange Awards

E.B. Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award

Established by the Oregon State University Alumni Association in 1981 in tribute to an extraordinary man and his contributions to OSU and the State of Oregon. The award honors OSU alumni who make significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments and careers bring acclaim to the university.

E.B. Lemon, ’11, served OSU for more than 70 years. His call for a “permanent alumni home on campus” was one of three primary reasons for the Memorial Union’s construction. Heavily involved with the OSUAA and OSU Foundation, his legacy includes creating the publication that is now the beloved Oregon Stater.


Joan Austin Honorary Alumni Award

Established by the Oregon State University Alumni Association in 2005 and permanently renamed the Joan (“Jo-Anne”) Austin Honorary Alumni Award in 2014, this award recognizes those who have contributed greatly to OSU and the Alumni Association, yet have not received a degree from OSU. Like its first recipient and eventual namesake, these individuals have given so tirelessly of their time and resources to the university that it is obvious that they are Beavers at heart.

One of Oregon State's most beloved friends and supporters, Joan (“Jo-Anne”) Austin died June 5, 2013, in Newberg, Oregon, where she lived with her husband of nearly 60 years, Ken Austin, a 1954 alumnus. The Austins co-founded A-dec, the world's largest privately-owned dental equipment manufacturing company, and when they found themselves able to help meet critical needs in society, in their hometown, and at Ken's alma mater, they did so with great enthusiasm and generosity. Austin Hall, the new home of the OSU College of Business, bears their name.


Dan Poling Service Award

Established by the Oregon State University Alumni Association in 1989 to honor dedication and service to Oregon State University. The award is presented to an OSU supporter who exemplifies Dan Poling's sustained service to the university.

Dan W. Poling, ’28, was an influential dean of men, faculty member, mentor, teacher and friend. He served the university and the welfare of students for more than five decades. “Dean Dan” to many alumni, the two-time OSU graduate remained enthusiastically engaged in alumni affairs throughout the years.


Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to OSU Athletics, the Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award is named after the four-year letterman who was the captain of the 1942 Rose Bowl team. A former president of the Beaver Athletic Student Fund, Martin Chaves was an influential booster in various fundraising activities.


Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award

Established in 2020 in partnership with the Office of Institutional Diversity, the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Alumni Legacy Award recognizes alumni who have demonstrated a deep and abiding commitment to causes of social justice, diversity, equity and inclusion and who exemplify and enrich OSU’s values of community, diversity, respect and social responsibility in their broader community and/or organization. The award recipients are recognized at the MLK Peace Breakfast each year. 


Jean & C.H. "Scram" Graham Leadership Award

Established in 2000 by the Oregon State University Alumni Association in appreciation of Jean and Scram Graham's leadership and loyalty to OSU. The award honors individuals who promote the alumni association.

Jean, ’36, and C.H. “Scram” Graham, ’35, poured their hearts into advancing Oregon State. Their fundraising efforts helped build Reser Stadium, Gill Coliseum and the CH2M HILL Alumni Center. Scram served as the director of alumni relations for nearly two decades.


Don and Shirley Wirth Young Alumni Award

Established in 2006 and permanently renamed the Don and Shirley Wirth Young Alumni Award in 2017, the award recognizes alumni, age 35 or younger, for exceptional achievements in career, public service and/or volunteer activities, which bring credit to Oregon State University. Don Wirth, a 1961 OSU graduate, was executive director of the OSUAA for 21 years and is widely credited with getting the CH2M HILL Alumni Center built. He and Shirley Wirth, a 1963 graduate, worked tirelessly for decades to increase alumni involvement and services at the university.